Monday, January 3, 2011

Happy New Year!!!

Should old acquaintances be forgot, and never brought to mind? Of course not! It's a new year and time for new adventures. My first adventure kicks off in two weeks when I travel to Virgina Tech for the first indoor meet of the season. Its been a great fall and I can't wait to see the results of the hard work start to pay off. Working with Youri Sedykh for a week in France and then again for nearly a week last month has been a great experience for my coach and I. We've all learned a lot from each other, so I'm expecting a lot out of this season. But more than anything I'm expecting to have a lot of fun, have a lot of new goals met, and keep pushing toward 2012 with as much fire as I can muster! As you may or may not know, I don't do resolutions, I set goals. So I would love to hear from you what are your goals or resolutions for this year? I wish all of you a blessed, happy, healthy, and prosperous New Year!

Love and Blessings,


Twitter AmberCampbellThrows

Throws Information

Throwing formats
In Olympic throwing events -- men's and women's shot put, discus, hammer and javelin -- the competition begins with a qualifying round in which the entire field is divided into two or more groups. In this round, competitors take turns attempting to reach a pre-set distance that automatically advances them to the final. If fewer than 12 athletes meet the distance required from direct qualification, the 12 competitors with the best throws, plus any athletes tying for 12th, advance to the final. In the final round, competitors take turns until each has attempted three throws. At this point, the top eight-ranked competitors (plus ties) receive three more throws. The best throw of the six is counted and the athlete with the longest throw is declared the winner. In case of a tie, the second-best throw is consulted.

Amber In her MJOLNIR Armor

Amber In her MJOLNIR Armor
Amber takes Gold at the Indoor Nationals

Olympic Trials 2008

Celebrating with the Campbell's

Indoor Championship 2009